Turn Out the Lights, The Party’s Over

Today, I watched my desk get taken away never to be seen again.

Today, I emptied the trashcans and took it all away to the dumpster.

Today, I threw the last of the last little office items into the bed of my truck.

Today, I vacuumed my way out of the office.

Today, I turned off the lights and locked the door.

Today, I walked down the way and turned the keys into the landlord.

Today, I watched the last nearly nine years of my life come to an abrupt end.

I’m an emotional heap of whining mess.

I cried, knowing my job will never be the same as it has been.

I will now be in a new part of the company, as the southeast sales manager.

I suppose I should be happy that I still have a job after this reorganization/merge happened, because so many people are without jobs right now.

Like I said… I’m being a baby today.  I’m whining.  I’m crying.  I’m scared of the unknown.

Big T feels like shit, so he’s not in any condition to cheer me up.  Wish he’d crack a joke or fart or something.

31 Responses to “Turn Out the Lights, The Party’s Over”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Farts are funny.

  2. If it helps any I will fart over here to cheer you up 🙂

    May all your changes be the beginning of the best of times.

  3. I wonder if Phil Fulmer had to vacuum his way out of his office and turn off the lights?

  4. I just farted. Hope that helps. It sounds like you could………oops, I just farted again. Anyway, so if you were to…..ahhhhhhhhh, there I go again, eww, that one smells like baby food. So, as I was saying, oooooooooooooooooooooo, that one was, well, I, I gotta go.

  5. Hey Cat!

    I bet this ends up being great for you. Change is Good. A new start! Let the past go, it’s time to move on! You’ll do Great.

  6. I made the Hoff pull my finger. Does that help? I know it is hard to look on the bright side in times like this but I am sure it will work out. If not I guess Big T will have to crack a fart. Anyway hope all is well.

  7. Yeah, I agree with you. Lot’s of us are thankful to know that we still have a job to go to. Close your eyes and take a deep breath, say goodbye to what was and when you open your eyes just be ready to embrace what’s ahead of you. The fastest you assimilate any changes the smoother things will be. I’m rooting for you but I know you’ll be fine.

  8. Awwww girl…

    While you’re lucky to have a job, the unknown part of it would scare me as well.

    Good luck..

  9. I totally get it. With the state of things in this country, we SHOULD feel lucky to still be employed, but watching things change all around us still feels awfully unsettling and sad. Good lucky, Kitty Cat. It’ll all be ok.

  10. So where r u moving too?..your not homeless for Gods sake are u?

    I am sure your new postion will do wonders…U just wait and see..

    good luck..and I just farted for u….I dont do that for everyone;)

  11. It always sucks when changes get made at work. They never seem to be for the better. But, you never know! Glad you survived the merger though!

  12. K.

    In an effort to cheer you up, I just farted.

    I’m not sure if you’re laughing yet, but I can tell you the people sitting next to me are pretty sad right now.

  13. wow, hard to complain about my job when yours has been deemed irrelevant. but a new year, new job title, new bullshit, sounds good to me!!! good luck!

  14. Aw come on now….I have a feeling bigger & better things are coming your way! So yank up yer straps & SMILE… dammit!

    So – now do you feel better? 🙂
    xoxo

  15. Head on over to my blog then. I just typed up a big steaming pile of poo humour that should cheer you right up!

  16. I farted for you.

    New is scary. But look at it as a new adventure.

    (I’m sick. That’s all I got.)

  17. ((BIG HUGZ))

    Once you get some closure I am certain that you will make the most of your new position and have a blast doing it. Change is stressful but you closed one door and another is open…that is exciting..and as you said, especially in these times.

    I’m always excited about finding new positions.

  18. Oh darlin. It’s going to be ok. Think of this as a wonderful new adventure.

    Revel in the blessing that you still do have a job. I know folks that have been forced out in the cold when their places of employment did a reorg. Revel in your blessings.

  19. Love the butt jiggle!

    It’s unknown, but I’m hoping you’ll look back and be glad for this change.

  20. Now, it may just be ME, BUT Southeast Sales Manager sounds pretty kick ass. You’ll get no shoulder to cry on, here, lol.

  21. That post reminded me of a Chuck Palahniuk novel — the structure did. Are you really the famous author of Fight Club?

  22. Any sort of transition has my panties all in a wad, so feel free to wallow for a bit. You’ll get used to the “new normal” in no time and be the rockin’ diva I know you are!

  23. The unknown is always a bit daunting! It will work out great, and like you said, you are lucky to have a job when so many don’t.

  24. Change always brings a ton of emotions with it even when we least expect it! Congrats for having your job and the promotion – I hope many good times are ahead of you. xoxo

  25. OH SHIT!

    This has happened to me more than I care to remember. I remember the first time I went through the merger thing. I hated that feeling of the unknown. I was a basket case. These companies think they are helping their bottomline but these stupid deals but it actually drives productivity down because employees are freaking out. The ones who got bought are wondering if they’ll get laid off and the ones with the buying company are wondering if they’ll get cut too. It’s a fucked up situation.

    Because I’ve been through it four times in the last five years (honestly) I can give you this advice: network your ASS OFF. Get to know as many people as you can in the new company and make sure they know what you can do for them to make their job easier. This will give you job security.

    Take it from a M&A survivor, you’ll be fine.

    Hang in there, girl!!!!
    XOXOXOXO
    RC

  26. It’ll be alright darlin but in the mean time come on over and drop in at The Den, todays post should at least give ya a couple of giggles. 🙂

  27. Hey!
    I think I just bought your desk on EBay.
    Good Luck with your new digs.

  28. It’s funny, I want to be all like “oh, come on, it will be fine” and *insert witty sage words here* but it’s hard for me to not sympathize. I KNOW that you should look at this as an opportunity for learning and growth and I also know without a doubt that sometimes the biggest upheavals result in the best, best changes in the long run.

    But I also know that if I were in your shoes, I would be really sad and really apprehensive. =\ Just put one foot in front of the other. It’s all you can do cause life will march on without you regardless.

    Sorry no jokes from me, but you know me. 😉

  29. Um, approve the second comment I submitted, without the typo, hehehe.

  30. lol @ mooog35’s comment!

Leave a Reply

