Heathens, Hypocrites & Halos

A good friend of mine in here on Blogger’s Lane, The Warped Mind of Ron, did a post on Religion. 

Yah, yah, yah.  It’s not ethical to talk politics or religion…

Oh wait, that was what they told us not to discuss with clients when I was in beauty school…  but this es mi casa on Blogger’s Lane and I can be as unethical as I wanna be, huh?

Ron’s post basically stated that he beleives in a higher power and:

“In the end an act of good committed in the name of any deity is still an act of good and an act of evil committed in the name of any deity is still evil. It’s not the label you chose wear it’s the choices you make in life.”

I couldn’t agree more with that statement.  Just because I don’t actively participate in church doesn’t mean I don’t believe in a higher power.

Which brings me to my subject at hand…. heathens, hypocrites & halos.

I suppose I would be classified as a heathen. 

Websters says a heathen is an uncivilized or irreligious person.  That’s me.  

I suppose I could qualify as civilized easy enough, I don’t fart or burp in public.   Nor do I chew with my mouth gaping open or talk when my mouth is full.  In short, my Mama done taught me some manners.

With regard to religion though… no thank you.  You can keep it.  I am old enough to decide for myself that church ain’t my cuppa joe.  Don’t get me wrong.   I may be a heathen.  I may not go to church.  I may smoke and I may drink. 

And God knows, I’m catty.  Not a gossip or a hater… just catty.

That in mind, I do know right from wrong.  I know the commandments.  I live my life and I do good by others.  If I see someone who needs help, I help.  If someone needs a shoulder or an ear, hey, here I am. 

I do unto others as I would hope they would do for me. I will get my halo. 

I’m not sitting in church, pretending that I am at least as Holy as Jesus himself and then going out gossiping or closet drinking or cheating on my spouse… all along acting the good part.

All my years growing up (until I was 17 and made my escape), I was forced into church/religion.  Pew jumpin, Bible pounding, fire and brimstone Southern Baptist upbringing. 

I actually enjoyed the social side of church until I was around 14 since the youth group was always doing something super cool. 

It wasn’t so bad until we moved to Tennessee.  Right smack in the heart of the Bible Belt.

Maybe the pastor was sincere in his teachings.  He knew scripture well enough to know every single passage about tithing and giving and yelled enough to keep a the dozing types awake… and the congregation….

This is where we get to **hypocrites….

I have never been around so many people who were there for the fashion show and the social hour rather than for the learning of the Word.

My aunt is a socialite and a big time mover and shaker in this congregation.  She is there to be seen.  She holds social functions at her huge house to be noticed.  She does this not so much because she wants to open her home up to share, but she wants to be sure that all the other hens in the coop are certain to be ranting and raving for days, nay, weeks about her, her house, her clothes, her perfect family.

These women gossip about each other.  Tell each other’s secrets and are meaner than the biggest asshat I know.  They fuss and fight over who will be sitting at the pastor’s table at the next pot-luck.

The pastor himself is trying to build a mini empire.  HUGE church, HUGE school, HUGE college.  More like a huge gated cult for social climbers.

What gets me is this.  These so-called Christians, who are called by God to spread his word, wouldn’t piss on someone who was on fire if they were from outside of the bubbled in social circle. 

I know this pastor and was a loyal (forced, but loyal) attendee.  He knew me and he knows my extended family very well (snooty auntie).   As does his wife. 

But, if you pass them at the grocery store or any other place, they will look up, take note that you aren’t in their social circle, and look away so as not to have to speak.

That my friends is hypocracy.  If you preach it or listen to it and act like you believe it, you should live it…. not just act like it.

**Disclaimer.  I do not think all good, clean-living church folk are hypocrites.  Nor do I believe all Pastors are in it for the money.

I’m just giving an account of why I choose not to do “religion”.

16 Responses to “Heathens, Hypocrites & Halos”

  1. I think we all need to make the distinction between religious and spiritual. To me, religion is man-made and earthbound. Spirituality is more or less universal.

  2. Well said!! I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for quoting me, but next time feel free to correct my grammer, LOL. I just noticed I left a “to” out of my intended sentence 🙂

  3. From a preacher’s kid who herself moved to the bible belt and away from true believers, I SO feel your pain. Well put!

    Can I get an a-men., sisters?

  4. That’s pretty much the same experiences I’ve had with religion. Go into church and look at the people sitting right up front making sure everyone knows they’re there and realize that those are the one’s who spend their weeks screwing their secretaries and ripping off customers and so forth. Just not my thing.

    Like you said, not all of them are that way. Hell, not even MOST of them are that way. But, there’s just enough of them to make it all more than I can put up with.

  5. the goddess says the only true church is the outdoors…and doesn’t mind that God gets all the credit and blame for things that happen..makes her job alot easier…

  6. Wow you said it darlin, I believe in God & I know right from wrong.
    I don’t need to buy a preacher a new caddy or help build his empire to know God loves me.

  7. rantingdiva Says:

    Mike- You said what I said in one sentence. Well done, young man.

    AngryMan- Now, now… that’s not what I said..

    Ron- Who am I to correct anybody’s grammar????

    QG- A to the men, Mama

    Jay- You got that right. Enough to be noticed.

    Jackie- The outdoors is a beautiful church.

    Truckindog- I don’t need an overpaid advertising man to tell me what I already know. Like you, I find it everywhere in everything.

  8. That would be ME.

    A heathen!

    Love the song “Heathens” by the DBT’s .

    Actually, I’m more spiritual than anything and some of my “friends” have a hard time accepting that. Oh well.

  9. The very basis of religion is hypocrisy. At the end of the day, you just have to believe in yourself. Being virtuous in the name of something or someone else is the exact opposite of true virtue. It is contended that no one is TRULY virtuous, but hell I’d rather be close to it than farther away.

  10. Guess I’m one of them thar heathens too. Irreligious and uncivilized. *BBUUURRP!!!*

    I was raised a Southern Baptist too and I noticed a whole lot of hypocrites and mean church ladies who just wanted to show you how “pure” they were…while their husbands would undress you with their eyes.

    Religion is bullshit in my opinion: pretty much greed, lust, sloth, wrath, envy, pride, and gluttony all in the name of GOD so you’re forgiven. Yup, I’m sure God is cool with that…George Carlin does the best bit on religion I’ve ever heard.

  11. I like them casual, contemporary, nondenominational churches – the kind where services are held in the high school gym. Lots of top notch poon to be had, and I don’t even have to wear a tie! Can I get an Amen???!!

  12. Tell it Sistah TELL IT!

    Sometimes I try to imagine what it would be like wielding the power that a Pastor has at his disposal…direct line to the almighty, the power to judge people and discern signs..awesome power…medicne man primal power. He can sit back and watch the sheeple competing with each other, jockeying to sit on his ‘right hand’.

    When this power is unmonitored he can collect sexual favours from the women and income from the men. They must feel impervious because they have to realise that they are getting away with it..they must shake their heads and say why the hell can’t these people see what a huge fake I am?
    Then one day the guilt is gone and they start believing that they really are messengers and then co-partners with god. When I watch all of those poor people on news shows talking about how they gave up their lives for some guy, it breaks my heart..they seem normal, bright, ‘with-it’ people.

    It stings because I wasted a decade in the full pentec-‘hostile’ world where I tried to convince myself that it is normal for a few people to actually have stumbled upon the secret of the universe..yeah sure..it’s right there under their noses and the heathens just refuse to believe.

    I have never been happier being a free thinking backslider agnostic..but I really miss the people back in the church who were sincere about the death to self and loving the unlovable..both of them.

  13. It’s interesting, since the devoutly religious claim to wanna be like JC, but the only people who have really discriminated against me are hardcore Christians. And I kinda don’t think JC was big on discrimination. Just sayin.

  14. rantingdiva Says:

    Bella- They love you for who you are, or they love you not!!

    Sully- Close is better than not at all!

    RC- I think we’re twins.

    Dyck- Church for poon?? Damn dude.

    Don- Amen to that!

    Krissy- JC loves everybody.

  15. Wow…what an amazing post Diva!! All I can say is….

    Can I hear an AMEN?!?!?

    I grew up in a similar situation and noticed the hypocrites at a very early age. Mom still is all involved in her methodist church and always tries to push us to “find a church.” When I casually pointed out how she (my own mother!) was being hypocritical while she was talking shit about another church-goer, she quit pushing us. I think she now “gets” where I’m coming from!!

Leave a Reply

